The second day of the excursion to DC was taken up with a look at the Jefferson Memorial and a moving visit to Arlington Cemetery. On this day – 28th April, the Prime Minister Shinzo Abe of Japan was on a state visit to the US. Security was high, of course.

After checking out of the hotel, and arranging to store the luggage and the car for a couple of hours while we did some further sightseeing, we went and had a closer look around the Jefferson Memorial. It was even better on the inside, in my opinion, than the external view promised. Here are some of the photos from there.

DSC_0903

DSC_0906

I couldn’t resist a shot over the water of the Martin Luther King memorial – different again in daylight

DSC_0914

DSC_0917

DSC_0927

DSC_0938

DSC_0928

We also took a stop off at Union Station as I wanted to get these pictures of the statue of Columbus and the bell:

DSC_0840

DSC_0844

DSC_0843

After going back to the hotel and having lunch there, we picked up the luggage and the car and started out to see Arlington Cemetery. Such amazing grounds where war heroes famous and not so famous are buried with honour. The highlights for me, though, had to be John F Kennedy’s grave and the Tomb of the Unknown Soldiers. We watched the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknowns and the laying of the wreath.

DSC_0981

DSC_0980

DSC_0986

DSC_1047

DSC_1040

 

DSC_1074

DSC_1109

We drove around doing a bit more sight seeing before heading back to Philadelphia. Sights included the First and Second World War memorials, the White House, the Kennedy Center and the infamous ‘Watergate’ Hotel.

DSC_0942

DSC_1190

DSC_1231

DSC_1210

DSC_1212

DSC_1204

So, with a little sadness, we made our way back to Frankie’s home in Philadelphia. This was my last weekend in the States and the last trip away from Philly.

It had been a fantastic trip and I think it strengthened me for what would be happening when I arrived home. Of course, I owe so many thanks to the lady who I visited as my girlfriend, and left as my faincée, Frankie.

